“I’ve got my period to take care of and to collect in blue tampons”

The+Knife

When you listen to the Knife, usually the lyrics are unintelligible and because it’s ‘dance music’, you don’t feel compelled to look them up and seek further meaning. I decided to invest some time in the pursuit and found my new feminist-heroine-band. This has become my new feminist mantra for the week:

“I’ve got soul in my bones
Got a home, a dog and a man to call my own
Every month
I’ve got my period
To take care of
And to collect in blue tampons

Na na na
Na na na

I’ve got mace, pepper-spray
And some shoes that runs faster than a rapist rapes
What I need is chemical castrations, hope and godspeed

Na na na
Na na na

What I need is chemical castrations, hope and godspeed…”

I’m enjoying pairing meaningful protest lyrics with amazing electro beats!

Listen to Na Na Na Na, The Knife (Silent Shout album)

Leave a Reply

